Waiting for supermoon tonight

Tonight, the moon will reach its perigee at 19:09 UT, 2:09 a.m. local Time. Its distance from the Earth at that moment will be 221,565 miles, or 356,577 kilometers away only!

I am ready with my telescope and camera. I have been waiting this moment since I read the news last week. But the local weather is not so friendly tonight. There are thick clouds, so windy and lightnings too.

I really hope wind is blowing away the clouds. I got to see it or I shall wait for another 18 years.

Our colleague in Rusia has taken the super-moon yesterday and published at space.com. Below is the picture com when moon reach at its perigee.

Courtesy of Space.com

The full moon of March 2011, as it appeared to skywatcher Dmtriy S. Benbau in Ekaterinburg, Russia in the early-morning hours of March 19. CREDIT: Dmtriy S. Benbau

After a worth while waiting finally the weather compromised with me. It was not as big as I thought. According to space.com the size is 30% bigger. At about 12am there were still thin clouds, but the sky was much cleaner.

I could take some good pictures. It is a bit tricky to take picure of moon. Below is one of the best I could get with my Nikon D3100, taken at 00:27. I use standard Nikon 18-55mm lens. I also tried to take under the telescope but couldn’t get what I want.

Supermoon above Jakarta

Supermoon above Jakarta

I should have done some trials a night before. But the result is pretty good, isn’t it?

One Response to Waiting for supermoon tonight

  1. work pant says:

    Greetings. I absolutely did some web surfing and initiate this blog. I resolute next to way of this blog ask for up and it is really incredible.I indubitably genuinely fancy your website.Perfectly, the chunk of posting is in guarantee the very finest on this genuinely usefulness nevertheless subject. I added it and im hunting onwards to your upcoming put reports. I also observed that your website has some major connecting completed to it. I longing correct aside from get hold of your rss dine to hamper wise of any revisions. Wonderful information you received convenient here.Delight claim edit on your unbelievable

Leave a Reply

